• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

Mod your PS2 without having to buy anything (potentially)

chrono6456

I've always looked for a way to softmod a PS2, but all methods usually required buying some kind of action replay, or codebreakers game to get software onto a ps2 memory card. Then, I friend showed me a miraculous link....which is not allowed....

Basically, as long as you have 007 Agent under fire, or any of the other games listed further down in the thread, this mod will work. I'm still learning, but this does work.

This only requires you to burn a copy of a modified PS2 game you already have, and it also requires you to make a slide card out of a old credit card to swap disks. You will only have to do this once since you can install MCboot. (diagram for tool here http://members.cox.net/awoolcott/Swipe-Card.gif)

I used Metal Gear solid 3 and replaced the file they said with a ulaunchboot elf, loaded up the original in my PS3, swapped at the main menu, went to special, camouflage, and bam, ulaunchelf loaded up! I haven't done anything from then on since it's too late today, but thats enough already. I can now install mcboot off a usb stick onto a memory card and play DVD backups with something called ESR.

I'll be using this guide for the rest of the stuff for installing mcboot and esr to boot backups.
ESR - PS2 Project

EDIT- It's just a rom site (a good one at bat too), but whatever, here is the guide copy and pasted. All credit goes to "JESUSoCHRIST" I may rewrite it tomorrow to make it easier to follow if people would like so.

Here is a good site to get some of the apps like ulaunchelf and mcboot when needed, also has apache v1.1
SKS Apps - Exploit Systems - Wii Ps3 Ps2 Apps - Homebrew Game Downloads - Forums

FIRST