• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

How Much Should I Offer For This Computer?

andyauff

My friend is selling his desktop computer. I don't know much about computers so I'm not sure how much to offer. He says it is a Gateway but he doesn't know the model. It has a Core 2 Duo processor 1.8 GHz, 1GB RAM, 250 GB HDD. He also says he paid $890 for it 2 years ago.

Also, what is the difference between a Core 2 Duo processor and and Intel Celeron processor? The computer I have right now says it has a 1.7 GHz Intel Celeron processor. Even though the GHz are similar, is the Core 2 Duo a lot better?

Thanks.

Teowulf

<span style=height:2px;cursor:default;"></span>
I'm not an expert on computers at all, but it's value has certainly gone down over the past few years. Nowadays you can find a computer significantly better than that for about half that price.

For example, here's a gateway for $470, which is a lot better than that one. Newegg.com - Gateway DX4720-03 Pentium dual-core E5200 4GB DDR2 640GB NVIDIA GeForce 7100 Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit - Desktop PCs

I personally would recommend getting a computer of your own (or upgrading your current one). Or you could buy his and upgrade it, but right now it holds very little value. Or if your friend wants to sell it for a fair price, he should order some more RAM and maybe get a new processor and then upgrade it himself. What's the video card in it now?

andyauff

Well the thing is, my computer I have right now is old and outdated. I don't know if it's worth upgrading. And I wouldn't know where to start. Right now my computer is an HP pavilion 503n. 1.7 GHz Intel Celeron Processor, 128 MB DDR SDRAM, 40 GB HDD. It's really slow, but it works fine overall. How would I go about upgrading it? And if all I were interested in were speed, would simply getting more RAM suffice?