• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

A total noob to web development

Vee

I understand everything everyones saying here. What i dont get is after learning HTML, how you make your template and how you tell images, where to stay.

Also, i'm running into a bit of trouble when it comes to the resolution of my site. I've made it according to the my computer, which is running at 1280x1024. But friends of mine that are using lower resolutions claim to see the site resized and completely out of order.

A_Nub

Developer
a rule of thumb is to develop for a POS system. Personally I try to keep my sites in 800x600. But recently I have been making dynamically sized sites, which are optimal ;).

AJAX ftw.

Archaemic

Use AJAX only when necessary, I feel. I like to have some shiny stuff on the top, but have it fall back to something that's still completely functional if JavaScript fails.

Clint

Clintoris
Use AJAX only when necessary, I feel. I like to have some shiny stuff on the top, but have it fall back to something that's still completely functional if JavaScript fails.

Yay, unobtrusive JavaScript really is the best way to go. So many sites really ignore the JavaScript disabled audience, which really is a shame. Especially for large sites, it could really be a larger group than you expect.

ilyace

I'm extremely picky when it comes to standards but you can't blame a huge web app like vB for failing standards with all the plugins we've thrown in, that just shows a little ignorance on your part.

@OP: You should learn XHTML 1.0 Strict I'd say, people say it's harder to code in but I write standards compliant HTML naturally so I can't tell.

Always, always, always use classes and IDs with CSS, never inline style things using attributes (width="500", etc). You'll thank yourself in the long run.