• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

Too many Game icons loading slowly -- any settings to cache menu thumbnails?

Shadowstitch

Hello! I'm a bit of a newb, but with the help of the excellent resources, tutorials, and stickies posted here, I have managed to successfully hack my TA-085 with a CFW, and it's all looking and working great! :thumbup1:

I do have a question though; a curiousity that I can't find the answer to, and it's so weird I'm not even sure I know how to begin searching for it.

I've been adding tons of emulators and stuff to my MStick, and now my list of items in the Mstick "Games" section of the main menu is pretty big. Like ~14 items big.

When I go into the "Games" menu, it only shows little placeholder icons, and then when I move to select an item, the thumbnail image actually loads, showing me what the item actually is. It usually loads a few items before and after the one I selected, and if I scroll to the bottom, it still shows placeholders, and it takes a few seconds for it to load the icons there and catch up. Fair enough.

BUT. If I scroll BACK up to the top, the icons are back to being placeholders, and it has to re-load the thumbnails all over again. It takes time to load, and it's kind of annoying.

Other than the obvious option (get rid of a few items!) is there any way to force the menu to keep those thumbnail images, like a prx or registry hack to specify a larger cache, or something along those lines? I'd like it to load the thumbnail once, and then keep it, so I can scroll through all the items in the list and the thumbnails won't have to re-load each time.