• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

New to all this, help appreciated

easy

Hello,

I posted my own topic since it wasn't a Q/A topic like I thought, just a FAQ, and didn't see an option to delete the other post.

I am new to to this and need some guidance, I've read through a few guides for the last hour or so but don't know where to start.

I have the PSP fat version with original firmware version 1.50.

This is what I want to do before I get started:
--play a backup ISO
--working emulators (nes)

I have a couple questions first.

1. Does a magic memory stick need to be different than the one I use to play games?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A question before I get started,
2. Should I get a pandora battery and magic memory stick created before I try any of this?
I don't have access to someone elses PSP to do it in case things go wrong.​

It also must be a Pro-duo and in size terms no smaller than 512mb, cards of 4gb can be used although (in my view only) can be a waste of space. I have 3 or 4 MS, with my regular 'Gaming' stick being 8gb.

3.. When I go to game>triangle>information it doesn't even mention the word magicgate at all on the 256mb MS I use just capacity/used; wouldn't it at least state not supported/unknown if it was fake? I bought it from Wal-Mart.

4. I know I need a bigger memory stick to get an ISO to fit. Just curious if I need to buy two if the 256 one I have now cannot be a magic MS and if I need my gaming/magic MS sticks to be separate.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am confused by all the custom firmware such as m33, gen-; HEN, and iso loaders.​