• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

A total noob to web development

ilyace

It's always something I've wanted to learn, but where do I begin? Ex. I'd like to know the difference between all of the web programming languages, and their uses. Any help would be great :)

edit: Also if any of you could recommend some good books for this kind of stuff I'd appreciate that as well.

Greyone

Funny Little Green Ghouls
It's always something I've wanted to learn, but where do I begin? Ex. I'd like to know the difference between all of the web programming languages, and their uses. Any help would be great :)

edit: Also if any of you could recommend some good books for this kind of stuff I'd appreciate that as well.
I recommend starting out using kompozer
KompoZer - Easy web authoring

Then you can learn from the code, and move on to CSS.

Sullivan

I fiddled around for a year, learned a lot all by myself, I took a course on it in high school, and learned CSS.

Start out with some examples from W3:
HTML Tutorial

Its very easy, they give you examples and such.

Archaemic

For HTML and CSS, I recommend w3schools.com, as that's basically what I used when I was starting out, and then moved up to w3.org (which is the heavy stuff--you don't want that if you don't know what you're doing). It can also help with JS. I usually use MDC (Main Page - MDC) for JavaScript and DOM reference.

As for PHP, MySQL, etc, I bought a (really bad) book for that sort of thing, so I can't really give any recommendations, as I used what I learned from the book as bootstrapping and then the official sites to get properly acquainted with the languages.

amrcidiot

MFM Survivor
I say start out coding by hand, then go into programs like dreamweaver if you want to use a WYSIWYG.