• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

Obama to Lengthen School Years!

JWebster

Obama has an article that says that he wishes to lengthen school years and shorten summer time, Are you pro? con?

I, Pesonally, am con, i believe that lengthening the school year would create a mountain effect (that never falls back down) of teen pregnencies. If you have a longer school year, there is more of a chance for teens to get "lonely" and want to be more "sexually active".

Dan

Contributor
Personally, I couldn't give a shit as;

1. I live in the UK.
2. I'm in my last year anyway.

JWebster said:
If you have a longer school year, there is more of a chance for teens to get "lonely" and want to be more "sexually active".

I'm assuming you've never heard of the 'M' word.

JWebster

Um, Nope. and you wouldn't give a shit because you don't live in the US.

---------- Post added at 05:41 PM EST ---------- Previous post was at 05:40 PM EST ----------

Wait a minute, yes I know what you mean, but most teens (besides, in my opnion, boys) would not consider that.

Abe Froeman

Gamer Dad
Enforcer Team
There's a very logical reson why the US doesn't use trimesters and schools are closed for the Summer months.

The majority of schools do not have air conditioning.

It would cost millions to outfit schools with AC to combat the heat of July and August.

JWebster

I hadn't thought of that, that is very logical.

KezraPlanes

Just some dood
Before I answer, could someone PLEASE fill me in on how the US educational system works?

Chathurga

Well I have to say I never expected you to list teen pregnancy as a con, one of the few times I've ever actually said wtf to something I read online.

Abe Froeman

Gamer Dad
Enforcer Team
Before I answer, could someone PLEASE fill me in on how the US educational system works?