• Steam recently changed the default privacy settings for all users. This may impact tracking. Ensure your profile has the correct settings by following the guide on our forums.

[WIP] Platformer Game

dan369

You might remember this
http://pspupdates.qj.net/PSP-Homebrew-PGELUA-Platformer-demo/pg/49/aid/126620

It was my very first attempt at a platformer, it was ok but lacked graphics. But now, i'm re-doing the whole thing to make it better. And this is a little thread to show you my progress, to keep you informed. I'm also willing to suggestions & any ideas you may have but anyway. Lets show you my progress:

Progress 1
My main problem with my game was the Levels, they were a pain in the ass. Thats why there's only one. To make a level took ages & it was very time-consuming & you easily get bored.
So i decided to make a level-editor. I have never done ANY tool beforehand so i did a bit of research looked at how other people did their level editors & found it quite easy. So i set about making my own.
he main problem i faced was the output, many (nearly all of them) used the tale.save() & table.load() functions from the Lua-users wiki. I didn't at all like the output, i wanted a simple 2d array. I finally made my own system which you can find
Here Note: this is old it has since been improved
This again was an ahievement for me.
So i finally got the output how i wanted & finally got everything working.
The map editor itself has two layers: Normal layer & a collision layer & runs in LuaplayerHm7.
But anyway here's a video of it in action
[YT]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMKufzWUJaA[/YT]

And here's some pics of the map-editor in progress:
shot0.png

shot1i.png

shot2h.png

shot3.png

shot4.png

I'll have some videos of the game soon :)

dan369

Can't wait. :)

The PSP could do with a home-brew platformer.

I'd add 'original' to that because there has been sum good ports, SuperTux for example.